User:Chunshek

From Wikinews, the free news source you can write!
Jump to: navigation, search

This is Chunshek’s user page

Welcome! Look around and drop me a line!
Crystal Clear app personal.png

Short biography

My name is Chun-shek Chan. I'm a 25-year-old TV journalist, world traveler, and true jack-of-all trades.

I was born and raised in Hong Kong, where I spent the first 19 years of my life. I have since lived in several cities in Massachusetts, United States, until 2006. Currently, I live in Wilmington, North Carolina, where I work as a photographer at WECT-TV.

I am an avid backpacker, and have been to five continents—Asia, Europe, Africa, North America, and Oceania. I want to make it to South America and Antarctica some day.

I'm a full-time optimist, wear boxer briefs, and am a pretty nice guy.

Crystal Clear app cache.png

Wiki-life update

February 2006: The Boston Globe published a big feature story on myself and other Wikipedians in Massachusetts. I was on the road when the story went to press, but many of my Boston friends called me or texted me to say: "I saw you on the Globe!"

March 2006: I just started participating in Wikimedia projects again, after spending the entire month of February on the road, looking for a job. I traveled from Massachusetts all the way to Alabama, visiting many old friends, as well as dropping off résumés and demo tapes at numerous television stations along the way. But, I have settled into my new job in North Carolina now, and have started working on Wikinews Chinese. It is a brand new project, and it seems like I could lend it a hand as a news professional. So I try writing an article or two a day, as well as helping with the newswriting for stories done by others, just to bring the project up to speed.

Crystal Clear app ktalkd.png

Elsewhere on Wikimedia

Crystal 128 back.png

Five Ws (and one H)

  • Who: Chun-shek Chan
  • What: News photographer at WECT-TV
  • When: Since March 2006
  • Where: Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
  • Why: I love news. Plus I am already a news professional.
  • How: Most of my contributions will be on Wikinews Chinese... although I plan to spend some time on Wikinews English as well, likely working on stories about Hong Kong (my hometown), Wilmington (my current location), business, severe weather, and global issues that affect the lives of you and me (my journalistic interests).
Crystal Clear app package network.png

Languages

If someone wants to teach me Spanish, Japanese or Arabic, I'm game.