Married couple die after being hit by car in Largs, Scotland

From Wikinews, the free news source you can write!
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Sunday, August 4, 2013

A man and his wife, aged 87 and 84, have died after a car hit them in North Ayrshire in Scotland. The couple, who have yet to be publicly identified, were walking across Greenock Road in the town of Largs when they were hit by a red Toyota at approximately 9:15am BST (0815 UTC) yesterday.

An air ambulance reportedly attended the scene of the crash. The woman was taken to Southern General Hospital in Glasgow. She died several hours later. Her husband died at the crash site. The Toyota driver, a 34-year-old woman, was uninjured but as a precaution was taken to Inverclyde Royal Hospital.

Greenock Road was closed between Nelson Street and Brisbane Road following the incident but reopened around 4:00pm BST (1500 UTC) yesterday. A report about the incident is to be sent to the procurator fiscal. Police have appealed for potential witnesses to the accident to contact them.


Sources[edit]

Bookmark-new.svg