Military jet crashes in Virginia Beach, Virginia

From Wikinews, the free news source you can write!
Jump to: navigation, search

Saturday, April 7, 2012

A United States Navy F/A-18 Hornet crashed into a civilian area of Virginia Beach, Virginia yesterday at approximately 12:05 pm EST (1605 UTC). Both pilots of the jet ejected from the aircraft.

The jet's flight originated from Naval Air Station Oceana in Virginia Beach. It is reported that the jet crashed shortly after takeoff. The crew are members of the Strike Fighter Squadron 106 based in Oceana.

The jet crashed into the Mayfair Mews Apartments apartment complex. Heavy smoke was seen in the area. Seven people were treated at a local hospital, including five people on the ground and the two pilots. No deaths were reported. Emergency personnel are looking for any other victims, and said three apartment residents had not been accounted for.

Several buildings caught fire. Officials say the crash damaged or destroyed about 40 apartments.

Nearby Interstate 264 was closed off by police in both directions for several hours. By 3:00 pm EST (1900 UTC) I-264 was fully reopened.


Sources

Bookmark-new.svg