UK Wikinews Shorts: July 8, 2013

From Wikinews, the free news source you can write!
Jump to: navigation, search

A compilation of brief news reports for Monday, July 8, 2013.

Man dies in Scottish Highlands crash

The passenger of a car that crashed near the Scottish Highlands village of Carrbridge has died. Two males, who have yet to be publicly identified, were travelling in the vehicle when it crashed on Carr Road at approximately 2210 BST (2110 UTC) Saturday.

The driver was transported to Raigmore Hospital in Inverness. He is not thought to have life-threatening injuries. Police Scotland have appealed to any possible witnesses to the incident.

Sources



Diver dies following cardiac arrest in Nantlle Valley, Wales

A 50-year-old man has suffered a cardiac arrest while diving in north Wales and died as a result. Emergency services were alerted to the scene of the incident, Dorothea Quarry in Nantlle Valley, at approximately 1250 BST (1150 UTC) Saturday. A rescue helicopter from the Royal Air Force and an air ambulance were involved in the search for the diver. Attempts to save the man by emergency services were unsuccessful.

North Wales Police reported that the coroner in Gwynedd and the diver's next of kin have been informed of his death. Dorothea Quarry is reportedly a popular diving location. However, since 1990, around twenty deaths have occurred there.

Sources



Woman dies in Berkshire, England retirement apartment fire

A fire at an apartment block for retired persons in the English county of Berkshire has killed an elderly woman. The building, located on Elm Lane in the town of Reading, was reported to be on fire at approximately 1450 BST (1350 UTC) Saturday. The woman, whose age has not been reported and who has yet to be publicly identified by local news reports, died at the scene of the incident.

Detective Chief Inspector Matthew Healey of Thames Valley Police said the force is attempting to determine the cause of the fire. "It is being treated as unexplained at this time, however, we are carrying out investigations which will allow us to confirm if there is cause for suspicion," he said. He also reported that following an evacuation of the building, "most residents have now been able to return to their homes, excluding those in the immediate vicinity".

Sources





Bookmark-new.svg