TWU members reject contract

From Wikinews, the free news source you can write!
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Friday, January 20, 2006

In a close vote, union members rejected the proposed contract negotiated by the Transport Workers Union Local 100 (TWU) and Metropolitan Transportation Agency (MTA) after a crippling transit strike ground New York City to a halt in December.

Calling the rejection "disappointing news to all New Yorkers", Mayor Michael Bloomberg called on the TWU and the MTA to return to the bargaining table as soon as possible. The TWU has expressed that it is ready to negotiate, but the MTA has not made any comment at this time.

After a week-long rallying effort, including radio advertisements by TUW Local 100 President Roger Toussaint encouraging union members to vote for the proposed contract, the voting period ended at 12:00 EST (17:00 UTC) and ballots had been counted by 17:00 EST (22:00 UTC). The final tally was 11,227 to 11,234 against - A difference of seven votes.

Source

Audio

Bookmark-new.svg